Treaty 8 [Alberta] Region

Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta Communities

Native Schools in the Treaty 8 Region

List of Chiefs

For a list of chiefs by nations and their contact information, please follow the link here.

Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta encompasses a land mass of approximately 840,000 square kilometers. The Treaty 8 territory encompasses Northern Alberta, Northwest Saskatchewan, Northeastern British Columbia and the Southwest portion of the Northwest Territories.  The membership of Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta is located below. These communities are further divided into Tribal Councils and 2 independent First Nation Communities. They are as follows:

Athabasca Tribal Council

  • Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation
  • Chipewyan Prairie First Nation
  • Fort McKay First Nation
  • Fort McMurray #468 First Nation
  • Mikisew Cree Nation

Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council

  • Loon River Cree Nation
  • Whitefish Lake First Nation
  • Woodland Cree First Nation
  • Peerless Trout #478

Lesser Slave Lake Indian Regional Council

  • Driftpile First Nation
  • Kapawe'no First Nation
  • Sawridge First Nation
  • Sucker Creek First Nation
  • Swan River First Nation

North Peace Tribal Council

  • Beaver First Nation
  • Dene Tha' First Nation
  • Little Red River Cree Nation
  • Lubicon Lake First Nation
  • Tallcree Tribal Government

Western Cree Tribal Council

  • Duncan First Nation
  • Horse Lake First Nation
  • Sturgeon Lake First Nation

Independent Nations

  • Bigstone Cree Nation
  • Smith's Landing First Nation