Education Commission



The Treaty 8 Education Commission prioritizes communication and collaboration from the membership of Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta. This communication section is a compilation of the Special Education and Special Projects Newsletters and other important documents and reports.


Content Coming Soon! Stay Tuned...

Education Commission Members

Chief Rose Laboucan | Education Chief (Driftpile Cree Nation)

Rita Marten (Athabasca Tribal Council)

Chester Auger (Bigtone Cree Nation)

Victor Dikaitis (Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council)

Vacant (Western Cree Tribal Council)

Judy Kim (North Peace Tribal Council)

Gordon Breen (Little Red River Cree Nation)

Gary Temoin (Driftpile Cree Nation)

Gwen Cunningham (Sucker Creek First Nation)

April Giroux (Swan River First Nation)

Elder Theresa Tuccaro (Mikisew Cree First Nation)


Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta members are proud, confident people who will flourish with an excellent quality First Nation Education System set within a holistic (mind, body, emotion, and spirit) framework.


To explore the building of a First Nation Comprehensive Education System for Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta that does not derogate or abrogate the Treaty No. 8 because we firmly believe education is a treaty right.

To involve the First Nation grassroots people of Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta within the process that will give direction towards mission, vision, goals, and objectives of a First Nations Education System for the members.

The Treaty 8 Education Commission, in conjunction and consultation with their respective communities, will establish a First Nation Comprehensive Education System that will provide for Lifelong Learning, First Nation Language/Culture Programming and excellent quality academic curriculum in a holistic manner.

Guiding Principles

Download The Guiding Principles Poster