About the Health Department

The Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta Health Department continues to serve as a connection with the First Nations largely through the Health Commission. The Health Commission is comprised of health directors from each Tribal Council, Bigstone Cree Nation, and Fort McKay First Nation who in turn take direction from their First Nation Communities. Recommendations provided by the Health Commission are then brought to the Treaty 8 Executive Board of Chiefs for consideration. The Health Commission meets at least 4 times per year and maintains steady contact between meetings.

The Health Department works with the Health Commission and Executive Board of Chiefs to ensure Treaty 8 communities in Alberta are receiving health services and benefits afforded to them through treaty rights and as Albertans. The Health Commission and Executive Board of Chiefs provide advice and direction to the health department to ensure positive health outcomes for Treaty 8 members.

Health funding also ensures that programs exist within the Treaty 8 office to ensure our treaty right to health is being respected and upheld. Current programs within the Treaty 8 Health Department include the NIHB Navigator, Health Policy Analyst, and Co-Management Liaison.

Treaty 8 Health Commission Chiefs
(Updated January 2019):

Health Commission Health Directors/Members
(Updated January 2019)

Health Commission Elders
(Updated January 2019)